Library Board

The Wilkinsburg Municipal Library is governed by the Board of Library Directors. The Library Board is composed of eight members, all residents of the Borough of Wilkinsburg, with staggered terms of office of three years each.

One Board member is selected by FOLLOW (Friends of the Living Library of Wilkinsburg) from among their own membership. Six Board members are appointed by the Borough Council after receiving recommendations from the Board. (At least one member must be a member of the Borough Council.) Finally, the Head Librarian also serves as a non-voting member of the Board.

The Board of Library Directors serve Borough Council in an advisory capacity on all matters relating to operation, media selection, and funding of the Wilkinsburg Municipal Library. Duties of Board members include but are not limited to regular meeting attendance, service on committees as assigned, and supporting the objectives of the Library.

Meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of the month.